Accessories Photo Credit: Western Living

Summer 2014 Hot Buys

New in stores across the West.

1. Pretty Pillow Sound the alarms: linen season is a go! Dress up your sofa in everyone’s favourite warm-weather fabric with these elegant Mint label cushions (from $179). The curved shape printed on the pillowcase in lovely sky blue even looks like flower petals— it could only be more seasonally appropriate if it were stuffed with sunshine. Mint Interiors, Vancouver, mintinteriors.ca

2. Glass Houses Score and Solder mashes up their coveted geometric terrariums with another vintage-modern style trend: the Edison bulb. The result is a collection of crafty, multifaceted table lamps (from $355) built onto solid, reclaimed fir bases. Old Faithful, Vancouver, oldfaithfulshop.com; Kit, Calgary, kitinteriorobjects.com; Luna and Hill, Saskatoon, lunaandhill.com

3. Mix Master Our new favourite outdoor activity is mixing and matching these colourful, graphic French Bull platters (from $18) to create the perfect patio party serving set. Anex Interiors, Regina, anexinteriors.ca

4. Sofa So Good There’s over 400 square feet of Hut K’s new location dedicated to the Muuto collection, but our fave piece is the rounded, low-slung Oslo sofa (from $4,790), which brings Nordic cool to the sunny Prairies. Huk K, Winnipeg, hutk.ca

5. Please Mr. Postman Whether you’re hitting the road or staycationing in style (lounging in the kiddie pool with an on-the-rocks margarita sounds pretty good, actually), send your wish-you-were-heres on these glamorous Rifle notecards ($20) designed by French illustrator Garance Doré and adorned with too-chic Parisian fashionistas. Violette Boutique, Victoria, violetteboutique.com

6. Art Works Painter Zoë Pawlak has teamed up with local designer Nicole Bridger to transform her dreamy, abstract artworks into flowy frocks ($228) as part of the Ready for Love collection. Good thing, too: Pawlak’s collaboration with Burritt Bros. Carpets earlier this year had us contemplating some sort of rug cape. Be Clothing, Courtenay, B.C., beclothing.ca; Nicole Bridger, Vancouver, nicolebridger.com; Studio Intent, Calgary, studiointent.ca; Awear Style Co., Edmonton, awearstyle.ca; Gentries, Saskatoon, 306-652-3929.

7. Seasonal Style
The water-resistant SWIMS Tassel Loafer Velvet in Petrol ($179) are boat weather-ready, but when the rainy days return (always a little too soon for our liking) they’re equally appropriate for dealing with puddles. Harry Rosen, across the West, harryrosen.com

8. In the Bag Though we’ve long loved the iconic Swedish Fjällräven knapsacks (boxy shape, cheery colours, fox logo, you know the ones), the opening of the brand’s first Canadian store in Vancouver means they’re now officially a West Coast wardrobe staple—perfect timing for taking a last-minute Tofino getaway with the lightweight, leather-detailed Duffel No.4 ($130) in hand. Still Life, Victoria, stilllifeboutique.com; Fjällräven, Vancouver, fjallraven.ca

9. Patio Party We thought wicker furniture had been permanently relegated to the tiki rooms of the world, but a new crop of updated pieces—like the natural rattan Fish high-back woven armchair ($649) designed by Paola Navone for Crate and Barrel—proves that the retro material works wonders when paired with modern forms. Crate and Barrel, Vancouver, crateandbarrel.ca

10. Rock Star The ergonomic, lightweight Dedon Fedro chair ($822) by textile designer Lorenza Bozzoli reimagines the rocking chair for the sophisticated layabout (this ain’t your grandma’s rocker). The modern, curved form is birdlike in shape and in colour—the palette is inspired by the striking greens and yellows of the most stylish types of tropical birds. Brougham Interiors, Vancouver, broughaminteriors.com; Dwell Modern, Edmonton, dwellmodern.ca

11. Master of Disguise
The sweet, polka-dot Dodocase ($35) disguises your iPhone in a miniature hardcover with a Moleskin-mimicking elastic closure. It’s perfect for protecting your gadget while preserving your scholarly reputation. Chapters, across the West, chapters.indigo.ca WL

Hot Buys
Hot Buys

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Instagram Diary