Accessories Photo Credit:

Hot Buys January 2015

The coolest new furniture and accessories that caught the attention of our editors this month, all available in Western Canada.

Hot Buys Jan 2014 Western Living Magazine

1. Patch Works 
A patchwork of fabrics brings a homey touch to the iconic modernist shape of the Zuo Modern Moshe occasional chair ($407). Monarch, Victoria, monarchfurnishings.com; Parliament Interiors, Vancouver, parliamentinteriors.com; Domicile Interiors, Calgary, domicileinteriors.com; Ideal Home Furnishings, Edmonton, idealhomefurnishings.ca; Urbane EQ3, Regina, urbance.ca; Sew and Home, Saskatoon, sewandhome.com; Interior Illusions, Winnipeg, interiorillusions.ca

2. Three in One
The Timothy Oulton Faraday pendant lamp (from $650) is a lamp within perforated steel within a glass cloche within a raw metal cage, and from these visual contradictions comes a beautiful statement piece. Luxe Home Interiors, Victoria, luxevictoria.ca

3. Turn It Up
The
 petite wireless Tube
Audio speaker ($189) from Leff Amsterdam
is packed with high-quality sound components—sure to please design lovers and audiophiles alike. Vancouver Special, Vancouver,
vanspecial.com

4. Girl’s Best Friend
The Edmonton-made lambskin Kimder A4 Katelin bag ($280) converts in a snap (well, in a few clips of the chain, if we’re getting technical) from a messenger bag to a clutch. Bamboo Ballroom, Edmonton, bambooballroom.ca

5. Hidden Gem
Stow your PVR inside the Dang media stand ($1,319)—the perforated steel doors of the mid-century-inspired credenza allow remotes to work their magic even when gizmos are out of sight. Area, Saskatoon, arealifestyle.ca

6. Key to Happiness
Slip any of the four coloured key chain into the magnetic slots of BoConcept’s Hanger key rack ($49) and breathe a sigh of relief that you won’t have to frantically hunt for it tomorrow morning. BoConcept, Vancouver and Calgary, boconcept.com

7. Reach Out
The artfully tangled arms of the Nuevo Living Titan pendant ($479) and its future-cool, half-metallic bulbs will spread soft light throughout your dining room—and plenty of whimsy, too. Skyline, Regina, skylinehomedecor
.com; Sew and Home, Saskatoon, sewandhome.com; Monarch Furnishings, Victoria, monarchfurnishings.com

8. Shake It Off
Nothing against the set of ceramic swans that grace Grandma’s dining room table, but these salt and pepper shakers ($110)—one made from walnut, its twin from maple—from Edmonton designer Jordan Tomnuk may just be the Platonic ideal. Sassy Wood, Duncan, B.C., sassywood.ca; Atkinson’s, Vancouver, atkinsonsofvancouver.com; Kit, Calgary, kitinteriorobjects.com; Plum Home and Design, Edmonton, plumhomeanddesign.com; Tamarack General Store, Saskatoon, tamarackgeneralstore.ca

9. Sofa So Good
There’s something charmingly disparate about the simple Sancal REW sofa (from $3,900)—the saturated colours are pure playfulness, but the smart angles and stark silhouette are serious design through and through. Pomp and Circumstance, Calgary, pompandcircumstance.ca

10. Hang Up
No closet space? No problem. The colourful steel Sidse Werner-designed Fritz Hansen coat tree ($999) makes for a sculptural addition to the front hall. Gabriel Ross, Victoria, gabrielross.ca; Inform Interiors, Vancouver, informinteriors.com

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Instagram Diary