Homes & Design Photo Credit: Courtesy of Building Bloc Design

Get the Look: Moody, Modern Kitchen

A sophisticated space just right for entertaining.

MajidaDevani.BBDesign_Kitchen

At the centre of this sleek, open-concept kitchen you’ll find something quite special: a custom-built island, part of which appears to be floating. It’s a space for sharing a meal with family and entertaining friends (and a visual anchor for the modern white-and-wood room)—and, in reality, it’s clever engineering, not magic, that keeps the four-inch-thick countertop afloat: a solid raw metal beam runs through the whole island to support it all. “The large quartz cantilevered over that far of a space gives a grand look and makes the kitchen feel airy,” says designer Majida Devani of Building Bloc Design.

On a clean foundation of white and ash wood, unique elements effortlessly add personality. “The kitchen is really simple, so even little things can bring a sense of depth and detail,” says Devani. “They’re complementary, but different as well.” The marble backsplash creates subtle texture, and organic touches like walnut bar stools add warmth. Meanwhile, the Tom Dixon pendant lights, each of which is a different shape, introduce a sense of play to the polished space.

Get the Look with These Key Elements

get-the-look-bblocThe Laminam natural marble tile (from $17 per square foot) layers soft grey veining atop warm white stone. stone-tile.com

The stainless steel Miele Incognito range hood ($3,999) brings a sophisticated industrial edge. trail-appliances.com

Mix and match shapes of Tom Dixon’s Beat lights (from $722) for a unique look. informinteriors.com


Sources

Designer, Majida Boga, Building Bloc Design, Calgary, bbloc.ca. Barstools and display bowls, Domicile Contract Sales, Calgary, domicilecontract.com. Light Fixtures, Kit Interior, Calgary, kitinterior.com. Grohe faucet, Kitchen & Bath Classics, across the West, kitchenandbathclassics.com; Robinson Lighting and Bath, Vancouver, robinsonlightingandbath.com; Cantu Bathrooms and Hardware, Vancouver, cantubathrooms.com. Backsplash, Stone Tile, Vancouver, stone-tile.com. Cabinets and shelving, Aya Kitchens, Vancouver, ayakitchens.com. Oven, Coast Wholesale Appliances, across the West, coastappliances.com. Sub-zero pantry door handles, Trail Appliances, Victoria and Vancouver, trailappliances.com; Edmonds Fine Appliances, Vancouver, edmondappliances.ca; Coast Wholesale Appliances, Victoria and Vancouver, coastappliances.com.  Kentwood flooring, Island Floor Centre, Victoria, islandfloors.com; Jordans, Victoria and Vancouver, jordans.ca; AAA Flooring, Vancouver, aaaflooring.ca; Frontier Luxury Flooring, Vancouver, frontierluxury.com.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Instagram Diary