Homes & Design Photo Credit: Ema Peter

We Can’t Even Handle This Kitchen With a View

A room with a jaw-dropping view is paired with a design worthy of its gorgeous setting.

When a home is lucky enough to be gifted with a great view, it’s a given that you’d want to orient every space you can toward it. The open-concept main floor in this West Vancouver home—which captures a spectacular view over Burrard Inlet—is one of those rare view-primary designs that manages to be just as beautiful inside as out.

McleodBovell_Sunset0578.CMYK_1

With 14-foot ceilings and a room that opens out to the terrace beyond, it would be easy for this kitchen to feel a little lost in the context of all that space. Instead, this white, bright and thoroughly modern kitchen, designed by Matt McLeod and Lisa Bovell of McLeod Bovell Modern Houses, feels beautifully centred thanks to the use of contrast. White spray-finished cabinets are paired with a dark inset of a tumbled-tile backsplash and a bank of cabinets in smoked glass. Besides providing easy-to-access storage, these darker elements help break up the tall cabinets visually, creating a niche that almost disappears from view. And they’re also in keeping with the moody, masculine theme to the materials elsewhere in the home: rich woods and metals, and rustic concrete walls. 

McleodBovell_Sunset0546.CMYK.rev_1

It’s a space that’s meant to be lived in. The far end of the oversized island (it’s almost 20 feet long) is home to a McLeod Bovell signature: a combined office and lounge space. It covers the functions of the other things we tend to do in the kitchen: look up recipes, help kids with their homework, pay the bills. A sofa and desk create a comfy space from which to get those daily tasks completed and enjoy that great view beyond.

mcleod bovell kitchen western living


Source List

Designers, McLeod Bovell, Lisa Bovell and Matt McLeod, Vancouver, mcleodbovell.com.

Benjamin Moore Simply White paint, Pacific Paint and Wallpaper, Victoria, pacificpaint.benmoorepaints.com; Coast Decorating Centre, Vancouver, vancouvercoastpaint.com; West Hillhurst Paint and Design, Calgary, westhillhurstpaint.com; ColourSpec North Decorating Inc., Edmonton, paintedmonton.com. &Tradition BH1 Spinning pendant, Inform Interiors, Vancouver, informinteriors.com. Custom cabinets and concealed pulls, custom mirrored cabinets, custom appliance garage, custom drawers, Mcleod Bovell, Vancouver, mcleodbovell.com. Kentwood Percheron flooring, Hourigan’s Flooring, Victoria, hourigans.com; Frontier Luxury Flooring, Vancouver, frontierluxury.com; Floor Trendz, Calgary, floortrendz.ca; Imperial Floors, Edmonton, imperialfloors.net. Bar stools, homeowner’s own. Caesarstone Blizzard countertop, Colonial Countertops, Victoria, colonialcountertops.com; Paragon Surfacing, Vancouver, paragonsurfacing.com; Jade Stone, Calgary, jadestone.ca; Atlas Granite, Edmonton, atlasgranite.ca. Blanco faucets, The Ensuite Kitchen and Bath Centre, across the West, emcoab.ca. INOX sinks, Cantu Bathrooms and Hardware, Vancouver, cantubathrooms.com. Quartzform countertop, Upper Canada Forest Products, Vancouver, Calgary and Edmonton, ucfp.com. Martha Sturdy bowl, The Gallery at Mattick’s Farm, Victoria, thegalleryatmatticksfarm.com; Provide, Vancouver, providehome.com. Vetrolite glass tile, Ergon Back2Back tile, Stone Tile, Vancouver and Calgary, stone-tile.com. Lucca Vases, Marbletop table, 18 Karat, Vancouver, 18karatsore.com; Home Evolution, Calgary, home-evolution.com; Dwell Modern, Edmonton, dwellmodern.ca. Miele induction cooktop, Coast Wholesale Appliances, across the West, coastappliances.com. Stoneware, homeowner’s own. Miele built-in hoodfan, Coast Wholesale Appliances, across the West, coastappliances.com. CGS curtain wall window system, CGS Alumninum, Port Coquitlam, cgsaluminum.com. Artwork, homeowner’s own. Custom design sofa, fabrication by Bloom, Vancouver, bloomfurniturestudio.com.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Instagram Diary