Homes Photo Credit: Tammy McGregor

Get the Look: Dramatic Marble Mantel

Create a Euro-cool look for your mantel with a visual trick.

A.H._TammyMcGregorLifeSeven Photography

The Look: Chic and Cozy

“We wanted to create a statement piece,” says designer Amanda Hamilton of the stunning marble slab that tops the fireplace of this sophisticated Calgary living room. It stands out in part because of the beauty of the material, but Hamilton also employed a colour trick to give it an extra pop: the walls around it are painted black to create a striking contrast. And below, the fireplace itself is clad in black metal so the whole thing disappears when the fire’s not lit. “Suddenly, you’ve created a seamless look,” says Hamilton.

Designed by Amanda Hamilton and architect Dustin Couzens

For more designer tips and inspiring spaces, subscribe to the Western Living newsletter!


Source List

Designer, Amanda Hamilton, Calgary, amandahamiltondesign.com. Architect, MoDA, Dustin Couzens, Calgary, moda-architecture.ca. Benjamin Moore Onyx paint, Pacific Paint and Wallpaper, Victoria, benmoorepaints.com; Coast Decorating Center, Vancouver, coastpaint.com. Statuario marble, Jade Stone, Calgary and Edmonton, jadestone.ca. Montigo fireplace, 4 Seasons Electrical Mechanical, Victoria, 4seasonsvictoria.com; Fireplaces Unlimited, Burnaby, fireplacesunlimited.ca; Hearth Fireplaces Distributors, Calgary, hearthfireplacedepot.com; Fireplace Gallery, Edmonton, fireplacegallery.com. Custom vegan leather Alison sofa, Alison table, Camerich, Domicile Contract, 403-262-9780, domicilecontract.com. Linden pillows, Brenner pillows, nowl, Crate and Barrel, Vancouver, Calgary and Edmonton, crateandbarrel.ca. Ligne Roset Balaa side table, Ligne Roset Bul lamp, Ligne Roset Moel chairs, Ligne Roset Soft and Doux rug, Ligne Roset Trinitas floor lamp, Livingspace, Vancouver, livingspace.com; Le Belle Arti, Calgary, lebellearti.com; Dwell Modern, Edmonton, dwellmodern.ca. Vase, glass terrariums, Wild About Flowers, Calgary, wildaboutflowerscalgary.com. Jonathan Adler Peace Hand sculpture, Jonathan Adler, Chintz and Co., Victoria, chintz.com; Mint Interiors, Vancouver, mintinteriors.ca; Kit, Calgary, kitinteriorobjects.com; The Artworks, Edmonton, theartworks.ca. White Lacquer tray, West Elm, Vancouver and Calgary, westelm.ca. Roost wish bone, Bernstein and Gold, Victoria, bernsteinandgold.com; Provide, Vancouver, providehome.com; Steeling Home, Calgary, steelinghome.ca. Cashmere throw, Restoration Hardware, Vancouver, Calgary and Edmonton, restorationhardware.com.

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Instagram Diary