Homes & Design Photo Credit: Ric Kokotovitch

Dream Kitchen: Functional, Durable, Warm and Refined

A Calgary design firm bridges the gap between modern and traditional with a touch of glam (and a secret room).

Perhaps one of the most impressive aspects of this kitchen from Connie Young Design is what happens when the photo shoot is over. “The kitchen looks like this all the time,” says principal Connie Young, who helped a couple with three rambunctious little boys design a functional and clutter-free kitchen in their new home just south of Calgary.

Aside from must-haves like showcasing a 60-inch Wolf oven and Sub-Zero fridge and freezer duo, Young’s main directive was to hide the mess that comes with smaller kitchen appliances, frequent entertaining for a big family and life with three children under 10. “Kitchens, when they’re not designed that well, there’s a lot of stuff that starts to clutter the counters,” says the designer.

Kitchen 3

So where is all the stuff? Both an espresso machine and a steam oven are built into a rich walnut structure with vertical cupboards. In the centre is a kitchen island, with gathering space and casual dining table all streamlined into one structure, with enough storage to put a dishwasher, a garbage/ recycling centre, tableware, cutlery and other everyday items at the family’s fingertips.

Dining

Oh, and did we mention the hidden room? At around 10 feet by 10 feet, it’s more bat cave than pantry, and you enter through a near-seamless white panel door just off the fridge bank. Inside are rows of shelving, a big counter, a sink, and an extra freezer and dish drawer, along with all those cluttery small appliances curiously absent from the counters, including a toaster, extra coffee maker, baking mixer and microwave.

Kitchen 4

“The whole house was about ‘how do we design it so that it’s functional and durable and warm, but it’s got this beautiful refinement all at the same time,’” explains Young.

Kitchen 2


Source List

Designer, Connie Young, Connie Young Design, Calgary, connieyoungdesign.com. Barstools, Domicile Contract Sales, Calgary, domicilecontract.com. Caesarstone Quartz Reflections countertop, Colonial Countertops, Victoria, colonialcountertops.com; Paragon Surfacing, Vancouver, paragonsurfacing.com; Jade Stone, Calgary, jadestone.ca; Atlas Granite, Edmonton, atlasgranite.ca. Wolf Range, steam oven and built-in espresso machine, and hood fan, Sub Zero refrigerator and freezer, Trail Appliances, across the West, trailappliances.com. Blanco kitchen sink and faucet and pot filler, Robinson Lighting and Bath, across the West, robinsonlightingandbath.com. HansGrohe cold water faucet, Victoria Speciality Hardware and Plumbing, Victoria, vshl.ca; Cantu Bathrooms and Hardware, Vancouver, cantubathrooms.com; Bartle and Gibson, Calgary and Edmonton, bartlegibson.com. Dining chairs, homeowners’ own. Bleached white oak flooring, Divine Flooring, Vancouver, Calgary and Edmonton, divinefloor.com. Milwork, designed by Connie Young Design, fabrication by Elegant Woodworking, Calgary, elegantwoodwork.com. Dining table, designed by Connie Young Design, fabrication by Divine Flooring, Vancouver, divinefloor.com. Mirror, designed by Connie Young Designs, fabrication by Herringer Kiss Gallery, Calgary, herringerkissgallery.com. Cyan Design Lighting (island), Schonbek dining area pendant light, Vivid Concepts, Calgary, vividconcepts.ca.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Instagram Diary